Sylvia’s Social Networking Dos & Don’ts for Artists

Facebook

I created this for my Facebook friends and anyone else who finds it useful. I learned networking as well as I did not only because I was a publicist for myself and for art events and a theater company, but also because I had to keep my art profiles separate from my dayjob business profile – i.e., I had to learn how to not publicize. Artists know it’s all business, but people on the ant farm usually don’t. Silver lining.

Google+

If the social network you’re using seems burdensome and overwhelming, it probably just doesn’t suit your personality – example, because I am a writer, Facebooking is an organic process for me; because I am in my 60′s, Twitter can be daunting; because I was already getting close to mid-career as an artist, MySpace never had any appeal for me; I like the Tumblr format, but I already have been blogging for a long time and don’t really need Tumblr for that; I like using WordPress as a portfolio because the platform affords excellent presentation. The ideal networking tool, in my opinion, is one you feel comfortable using that also does a good of networking to other apps with what you want networked without having to post to more than one app for each bit of news unless you want to.

LinkedIn Twitter Settings

Example: my social life and my personal life and my arts life have always been each other. Most of my FB posts are public, but I don’t always capitalize or proofread carefully on FB. Because I used LinkedIn as a day job resume and now use it as my CV, posts there are always more formally presented than on FB. So if I only want to post once and I need/want the post to look more (gag me) professional, I post to LinkedIn, which posts to Twitter, which posts to FB. Same with Vimeo, to which I post higher rez versions of videos than to YouTube and always use proper English – Vimeo posts to LinkedIn; Vimeo also posts to Tumblr.

Tumble

I set up other automatic posts, but I don’t need to pay attention them unless I’m running a campaign and or otherwise want tight control on specific communication and information. WordPress also tweets and tumbles. I do not have a proper website – my blog is now primarily a personal site for my hobby as an essayist and my WordPress is a megalomaniacal portfolio. And YouTube (about which the most useful feature for me is playlists, which are good for organizing and helping to focus the areas, perioda, genres, etc. of your work) is great free advertising, especially if you become a YouTube partner, and my study of my own stats makes me believe that it helps your Googlability
Vimeo - GooglePlus

As I think of more tips & suggestions, I will add comments to this post – especially about Twitter, which yes, sorry, is necessary in my opinion.

Vimeo - LinkedIn

Twitter App Settings

- Sylvia Toy

One thought on “Sylvia’s Social Networking Dos & Don’ts for Artists

  1. Pingback: Sylvia’s Social Networking Do’s & Don’ts for Artists | Kitchen Scenes

Comments are closed.