About a 4 Year Old T-Shirt with a Hole in It

This is a video essay about how privilege and disadvantage begins with tracking school-aged kids, and how that leads to disempowerment and disenfranchisement in adulthood. Last year I added my National Merit status to my LinkedIn profile. That sounds like a no-brainer, but I am retired from dayjob where I worked mostly as a paralegal and was told by more than supervisor that I shouldn’t talk about being an artist at work, let alone have “Art” on my resume. As soon as I knew I was not going to be a paralegal anymore, I stripped my CV of any references to dayjob and filled it with my 40+ years of arts related experience and education.Because I associate being a National Merit scholar with overachieving and ambition in the dayjob world – and have not wanted other artists or curators to associate that with me – I was embarrassed about it in the art world. After I retired and had some perspective on the fact that I did what “they” can do and what I can do too, I felt more integrated.For the first time in my almost 30 years of marriage, I started telling my husband about what it was like to be one of the smart kids who received special treatment; and watched other less gifted kids get classified, sorted and marginalized. I was very aware of that happening. I thought it was wrong then and I think it is part of the reason that our culture now is so fractured.Banner: Still,VOICE, A PERFORMANCE ART MOVIE (2016) by Sylviatoyindustries.Originally published on LinkedIn.

Source: About a 4 Year Old T-Shirt with a Hole in It

